Join the Mars Society 2022 convention online this week

0

Red Planet fans have a big conference to look forward to.

The International Mars Society Convention 2022 runs Thursday through Sunday (October 20-23), with portions streamed online. Coverage will be available here on Space.com, via the Mars Society.

The four-day event “represents a unique opportunity for those interested in the planet Mars to come together and discuss science, technology, social implications, philosophy and a host of other aspects of Mars exploration,” the nonprofit Mars Society wrote on its website. (opens in a new tab).

The theme for this year’s convention is “Searching for Life with Heavy Lift,” which will lead to discussion of options such as SpaceX’s Starship vehicle and NASA’s Space Launch System rocket, which will launch Artemis missions to the moon. .

Related: Possible sign of life on Mars? Curiosity rover finds ‘tempting’ organic material on Red Planet

NASA’s Perseverance rover is among the missions to be discussed at the International Mars Society’s 2022 convention. (Image credit: NASA/JPL–Caltech/MSSS)

Other topics will include NASA’s Perseverance Mars rover mission, the possibility of life on Mars, and updates from European and Chinese space programs, to name a few.

Keynote speakers include Mars Society Founder Robert Zubrin, Rocket Lab Founder and CEO Peter Beck, NASA Deputy Administrator Pam Melroy, and longtime Mars researcher Jim Bell. , from Arizona State University.

The Mars Society reports that below are some of the keynote speeches:

  • Thursday October 20: Dr Robert Zubrin, President and Founder of the Mars Society, Opening remarks
  • Thursday, October 20: Dr. Marcia Rieke, Univ. from Arizona, The first months of the Webb Space Telescope: a treasure trove of results
  • Thursday, October 20: Dylan Taylor, CEO, Voyager Space, How the space industry is likely to evolve in the next few years
  • Thursday, October 20: Interview with Rocket Lab CEO Peter Beck
  • Thursday, October 20: The search for life on Mars – Dr. Robert Zubrin, Dr. Steven Benner, Jan Spacek and Dr. Jim Bell
  • Friday, October 21: Dr. James Green, former NASA chief scientist, Bringing Earth Life to the Red Planet
  • Friday, October 21: Pamela Melroy, NASA Assistant Administrator, The human-machine team’s journey to get there
  • Friday, October 21 Dr. Ezinne Uzo-Okoro, Deputy Director, Space Policy, White House, Space capabilities for Mars and beyond
  • Saturday 22 October: Dr Albert Haldemann, chief engineer of ESA Mars, ESA plans to explore Mars and the solar system
  • Saturday, October 22: Michael Edmonds, Senior Vice President, Strategy, Marketing and Sales, Blue Origin, Blue Origin and its plans for space

There are also many other presentations. Here’s a look at some of them, day by day.

Thursday, October 20

  • 12:00 p.m. EDT/1600 GMT: Dr. Robert Zubrin — Opening Remarks
  • 12:30 p.m. EDT/4:30 p.m. GMT: Dr. Jim Bell — Postcards from Mars: Curiosity and Perseverance Mission Update
  • 1pm EDT/1700 GMT: Dr. Marcia Rieke — The first months of the James Webb Space Telescope: a treasure trove of results
  • 1:30 p.m. EDT/5:30 p.m. GMT: Dr. Vandi Verma — Mars rover operations and the role of autonomy and humans in sample return
  • 2:00 p.m. EDT/1800 GMT: Dylan Taylor — NewSpace 2025: How the space industry is likely to evolve in the coming years
  • 2:30 p.m. EDT/1830 GMT: Steven A. Benner — The Case for Existing Life on Mars
  • 6:00 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT: Peter Beck — CEO, Rocket Lab
  • 10:30 p.m. EDT/0230 GMT October 21: Panel Searching for Life on Mars — Robert Zubrin, Steven Benner, Jan Spacek, Jim Bell

Friday October 21

  • 12:00 p.m. EDT / 4:00 p.m. GMT: Jan Millsapps — Model Mars
  • 12:30 p.m. EDT/4:30 p.m. GMT: Greg Autry — Artemis and the Moon as a capacity-building destination for Mars
  • 1:00 p.m. EDT/1700 GMT: Jim Green — Bringing Earth Life to the Red Planet
  • 1:30 p.m. EDT/5:30 p.m. GMT: Bhavya Lal — NASA plans for fission-based propulsion/space nuclear propulsion
  • 2:00 p.m. EDT / 1800 GMT: Pamela Melroy – The Man-Machine Pathway to Take Us There
  • 2:30 p.m. EDT/6:30 p.m. GMT: Dr. Ezinne Uzo-Okoro — Space capabilities for Mars and beyond

Saturday October 22

  • 12:00 EDT/1600 GMT: Albert Haldemann — Mars (European Space Agency)
  • 12:30 p.m. EDT/4:30 p.m. GMT: Jekan Thanga and Sergey Shkarayev—Exploring Mars Using Gliders and Balloons
  • 1pm EDT/1700 GMT: William Bianco — Russia and the Limits of Global Space Cooperation
  • 1:30 p.m. EDT/5:30 p.m. GMT: International Mars Mission – NEWERA Mars Mission Proposal
  • 2:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. GMT: International Mission to Mars—Mars Society Engineering Design Class and Contest for High School Students
  • 2:30 p.m. EDT/6:30 p.m. GMT: Kris Zacny — The Future of Robotic Mars Exploration
  • 21:00 EDT/0100 GMT October 23: Banquet/Awards Ceremony with speakers: Michael Edmonds of Blue Origin and Erdenebold Sukhbaatar of MARSA (Mongolian Aerospace, Research and Science Association)

Sunday October 23

  • 12:00 p.m. EDT/1600 GMT: Jingnan Guo — Topic on Chinese space exploration
  • 12:30 p.m. EDT/4:30 p.m. GMT: Sabine Heinz — Space Renaissance International: Art on Mars
  • 1:00 p.m. EDT/1700 GMT: Maria Perino — Thales Aerospace Italy
  • 1:30 p.m. EDT / 5:30 p.m. GMT: Kai Staats — Mars Analog and Research Station at Biosphere 2
  • 2:00 p.m. EDT / 6:00 p.m. GMT: Ezio Melotti — Increasing the Fidelity of SIMOC (Scalable and Interactive Model of an Off-World Community) Mars Habitat Simulation
  • 2:30 p.m. EDT/1830 GMT: Sergey V. Ushakov — CALculation of PHAse Diagrams (CALPHAD) – Assisted Thermal Analysis for water-free production
  • 3:00 p.m. EDT/1900 GMT: Stefano Nerozzi — International Martian Ice Mapping Measurement Project
  • 3:30 p.m. EDT/7:30 p.m. GMT: Maraia Tanner — Star Harbor Academy
  • 4:00 p.m. EDT/2000 GMT: Alfredo Munoz — The off-world metaverse: numerical simulation of Martian colonies
  • 4:30 p.m. EDT/2030 GMT: Robert Zubrin — Closing remarks

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace (opens in a new tab). Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom (opens in a new tab) or facebook.

Share.

Comments are closed.